Alumni Awards

Celebrating our amazing Alumni

The Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes recipients for outstanding achievements in their professional lives, personal integrity and stature, and service to the university. It was established in 2001 to honor extraordinary accomplishments by members of the Auburn family. Recipients of Lifetime Achievement Awards are selected by a committee of Auburn administrators, trustees, faculty and alumni.

2018 Recipients

This year’s Lifetime Achievement Award recipients and the Young Alumni Award recipient will be honored at a dinner and induction ceremony on March 3, 2018, at The Hotel at Auburn University and Dixon Conference Center.

Charles Gavin III ’59
Founder and former CEO of major textile polymer and surfactant supplier MFG Chemical and 2016 inductee to the State of Alabama Engineering Hall of Fame

Read More about Charles Gavin III

Keith King ’58
Former CEO of Volkert, Inc. and a 2002 inductee to the State of Alabama Engineering Hall of Fame.

Read More about Keith King

Melanie Barstad ’75
Former president of Women’s Health Initiatives for the Medical Devices and Diagnostics sector of Johnson & Johnson

Read More about Melanie Barstad
Charles Barkley

Charles Barkley ’86
NBA Hall-of-Famer, two-time Olympic gold medalist and three-time sports Emmy award winner

Read More about Charles Barkley

The Young Alumni Achievement Award

The Young Alumni Achievement Award, sponsored by the Office of Alumni Affairs, has been created to recognize extraordinary accomplishments by members of the Auburn family. One recipient will be recognized each year for significant achievement in his/her professional life and/or for distinguished community service. The award will be presented as part of the annual Lifetime Achievement Awards Banquet and Ceremony held in March.

2018 Recipient

Dr. Erica Stringer-Reasor ’04
A Hematology & Oncology faculty member at the UAB School of Medicine since 2015, will receive the Young Alumni Achievement Award, which recognizes extraordinary accomplishments by members of the Auburn Family age 40 and under.

Read More about Dr. Erica Stringer-Reasor

Alumni Professor Award

joseph scott mcelroy

Joseph Scott McElroy
Crop, Soil and Environmental Science
College of Agriculture

kira bowen

Kira Bowen
Entomology and Plant Pathology
College of Agriculture

prabhakar clement

Prabhakar Clement
Civil Engineering
Samuel Ginn College of Engineering

robert boyd

Robert Boyd
Biological Sciences
College of Sciences and Mathematics

zhongyvang cheng

Zhongyvang Cheng
Mechanical Engineering
Samuel Ginn College of Engineering

Twenty-five, five-year non-renewable Alumni Professorships are sponsored by the Auburn Alumni Association, with funds endowed from annual giving. The Alumni Writer-in-Residence, a creative writer from the English faculty, is the only ongoing appointment. The Professorships carry an annual $3,500 salary supplement. The Vice President for Academic Affairs/Provost calls for nominations from department heads through deans. The awards are presented on the basis of research, publishing, and teaching.

The Distinguished Graduate Faculty Lectureship

henry kinnucan

Henry Kinnucan
Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology
College of Agriculture

Jointly sponsored by the Auburn Alumni Association and the AU Graduate School, the Distinguished Graduate Faculty Lectureship Award carries with it a $2,000 award from the Alumni Association. The recipients are nominated by deans, department heads, etc. and chosen by the Graduate Faculty Council on the basis of excellence in research.

Undergraduate Teaching Excellence Award


Kevin Moore
Associate Professor
College of Architecture, Design and Construction

This award is given to teachers who are exceptional in their quality of teaching, knowledge of subject,interest in students and availability to them, impact on the nominator’s personal educational experience, and influence within Auburn University. Teachers are nominated by students, alumni, and colleagues.Recipients are honored each year and each receive an honorarium award of $1,000 and a plaque.