Alumni awards

Black Alumni Weekend Awards

The Black Alumni Weekend Award recognizes recipients for outstanding achievements in their professional lives, personal integrity and stature and service to the university.


Apollos Abercrombie, Raymond J. Harbert College of Business
Brenda Allen, School of Forestry and Wildlife Sciences
Joshua Ekandem, College of Architecture, Design & Construction
Sophia Bracy, Harris College of Human Sciences
Jerlando Jackson, College of Education
Lawrence Martin, College of Business
Jocelyn Richardson, College of Veterinary Medicine
Jamesa Stokes, College of Sciences and Mathematics
Latricia “Vonnie” Stone, School of Nursing
K-Rob Thomas, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering
Marquita Winder, Harrison School of Pharmacy


Simona Black ’94, Curriculum in Professional Nursing
Randy Bradley ’97, Computer Engineering
Victoria David ’99, Forestry Management
Sharlene Evans ’86, Industrial Engineering
Andre Harrison ’06, Administration of Elementary Education/Secondary Education
Sonya Jenkins ’92, Applied Mathematics
Cheniece Kelleher ’13, Hotel & Restaurant Management
Abra Lee ’02, Horticulture
Wade Scott ’76, Pharmacal Science

Past Recipients

2019 Recipients

Katrice Albert ’02, Counseling Psychology
Lamar Barnett, Jr. ’01, Accountancy
Ruthie Bolton ’90, Health & Human Performance
Ronnie Brown ’04, Communication
Pedro Cherry ’93, Industrial Engineering
Audrey Goins Cormier ’74, Biological Sciences
Phyllis Gosa ’76, Pharmacal Science
Terrance Hunter ’09, Veterinary Medicine
Keith Matthews ’05, Biomedical Sciences
Jerryn McCray ’02, Architecture
Phearthur Moore ’87, Forestry Management
Chastity Stevenson Westry ’97, Agriculture Business & Economics
Chantel Tramitiere ’17, Public Relations-Speech

2018 Recipients

Duriel Barlow ’03, Secondary Education English/Science
Sharon Gess ’94, Psychology
Willie Huntley ’80, Political Science
Kenneth Kelly ’90, Electrical Engineering
David Knox ’92, Veterinary Medicine
Kristalyn Lee ’03, Microbiology
Linwood Moore ’77, Pharmacal Science
Bridget Peters ’15, Kinesiology
Dana Stone ’94, Forestry Management
Tim Vines ’88, Finance
Joseph Young ’14, Aviation Management


2017 Recipients

Valentin Abe ’91, Fish and Allied Aquacultures
Ernest Boyd ’76, Forestry Management
Gregory Philip Curtis ’11, Horticulture and Landscape Architecture
Angela Jenkins ’94, Biochemistry
Christopher Martin ’12, Nursing
Carl McMillian ’87, Pharmacal Science and Medicinal Science
Dawn Oliver ’97, Political Science
Anthony Salandy ’78, Human Development and Family Studies
Mychal Walker ’79, Speech Communication

2016 Recipients

Christopher C. Collier ’83, Speech Communication
Stephen J. Davis ’08, Pharmacy
Kenneth Day ’81, Forestry Management
Keisha Dzata ’10, Accountancy
Corey Edwards ’06, Finance and Higher Education Administration
Henry M. Ford ’76, Psychology
Kel Jackson ’11, Mechanical Engineering
Dana Carl Little ’79, Forestry Management
Shawn Malone ’96, Electrical Engineering
Harold Melton ’88, Business
James Curtis Owens
Roderick D. Perry ’95, Health Promotion and Higher Education Administration
Samuel L. Pettijohn ’67, Applied Physics
George O. Sneed, Jr. ’96, Nursing