Patrick “Pat” Fain Dye

Former Auburn Head Football Coach

Pat Dye was the head football coach at Auburn from 1981-1992, building the football program into a power in the Southeastern Conference. He was instrumental in moving the Iron Bowl to Auburn every other year, and in 1989 led the first victory against rival Alabama hosted on Auburn’s campus. A two-time All-American football player at the University of Georgia, Dye also spent nine years as assistant coach at the University of Alabama under Coach Paul “Bear” Bryant and six years as head coach at East Carolina University. During his Auburn coaching career, Dye amassed a record of 99-39-4, following only coaches Mike Donahue and Ralph Jordan for the most wins in school history. He received SEC Coach of the Year honors in 1983, 1987 and 1988. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2005. Dye currently works at Auburn as a special advisor to the president, lives on his farm in Notasulga and hosts a weekly radio show, “The Coach Pat Dye Show.